Attention IE7 Users

We have phased out support for your browser version (Internet Explorer 7). Please upgrade to one of these more modern browsers:

Audubon Commission

Notice is hereby given pursuant to Article 7, Section 23(C) of the Constitution and R.S. 47:1705(B) that a public meeting of the Audubon Commission in Orleans Parish will be held at Audubon Zoo Administration Building, 6500 Magazine Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, on Thursday, October 22, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. to consider levying additional or increased millage rates for the zoo and for the aquarium without further voter approval or adopting the adjusted millage rate after assessment and rolling forward to a millage rate not to exceed the prior year’s maximum. The estimated 2015 tax collections for the zoo and aquarium are $10,000,000 and the estimated 2016 tax collections are $10,500,000. The estimated increase of $500,000 is attributable to the millage increase.

Current Budget

The Commission is, in effect, a board of trustees. Appointed to a six-year term by the Mayor with the consent of the City Council, the Commission is composed of 24 registered voters of the City of New Orleans. It retains all authority granted to it by Louisiana State Act No.191 of 1914. It has specific authority to approve and control design and development of its projects. All monies from bond or tax revenues, approved by the voters of New Orleans for the Audubon Commission, are administered by the Commission. Title to all improvements, furnishings and equipment at the facilities remains in the name of the City of New Orleans via the Audubon Commission.

Meet Our Commission Calendar Minutes

J. Kelly Duncan: President
Daniel O. Conwill IV: First Vice President
Boysie Bollinger: Second Vice President
Linda G. Baum: Secretary
K. Barton Farris, MD: Treasurer

Gayle Benson
Storey Charbonnet
Angus Cooper
Frances Fayard
Rashida Ferdinand
Ashley Francis
Deborah D. Harkins
Bruce R. Hoefer, Jr.
Beth Lambert
Olivia Manning
Helena Moreno
Catherine Morrell
Peter Moss
Field Ogden, MD
Pamela Ryan
Charles C. Teamer
Tom Watson
Carol B. Wise
D. Brent Wood

Mailing address: Audubon Nature Institute 6500 Magazine St. New Orleans, LA 70118
| Copyright © 2015 | Privacy Policy | Mobile Site